Top 5 Defenses Against a Utah DUI Charge
Learn about the five most common defenses to a DUI charge. Keep in mind, that all cases are unique and some or all of these may or may not apply. If you believe the police failed to meet one of these standards, then you may have a defense to your DUI.
Get in Touch
Drop us a line or give us a ring. We are available 7 days per week from 9 AM to 9 PM.
Charged with a DUI?
Just because you have been charged with a DUI doesn’t mean you will be convicted of it. You have legal rights, and an experienced attorney can help you understand those rights. Before you can be convicted of a DUI, the prosecution must prove beyond a reasonable doubt that you violated the law. You do not have to prove anything.
Attorney Michael Hepworth
Michael has won and negotiated favorable outcomes on numerous DUI cases up against some of Utah's top prosecutors. It is important that the attorney you hire has the necessary negotiating skills to protect you.
Attorney Tanner Clagett
Tanner believes that everyone deserves justice. But justice is only a dream to those who cannot afford legal representation. That's why Tanner works with his clients on an affordable payment plan. Talk to him to find out how he can help.
Attorney Tyler Call
Everyone likes Tyler, except a prosecutor who sees him coming. Tyler won't back down from a fight, and if necessary, will take a case to trial to ensure his clients get justice.
Utah DUI Laws & Penalties
Under Utah Law, a person who violates for the first or second time Section 41-6a-502, is guilty of a class B misdemeanor; or class A misdemeanor if the person: has also inflicted bodily injury upon another as a proximate result of having operated the vehicle in a negligent manner; had a passenger under 16 years of age in the vehicle at the time of the offense; or was 21 years of age or older and had a passenger under 18 years of age in the vehicle at the time of the offense. See Utah Code.
There are certain offenses that require mandatory revocation, denial, suspension, or disqualification of a license. Review the applicable Utah Code here. So, does mandatory really mean mandatory? Is there anything that can be done? YES, give us a call now at 801-872-2222 to discuss your options.
Prescription Drugs & DUI
Many people believe, "If my doctor prescribed it, I should be able to drive on it." This is not the way the law sees it, however. You can be charged with a DUI even if you're not "high" if you're found to have an active metabolite in your system. Learn more.
Marijuana DUI Laws
Yes, you can get a DUI for driving while high. And not only are you subject to a DUI, you may also be charged with possession. There are defenses, though. Learn more here.